Los Angeles Angels search for first baseman on online want ads?


Being unemployed is nothing to laugh at. There are millions of Americans scouring for jobs every day. But I had to stop and chuckle this morning when I was browsing for PR jobs and came across a posting for the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim. It was for a controller position. Now I’m not an accountant, so I didn’t think twice about reading the ad. However, what did intrigue me, was what I found in the “other openings” section. That’s where I found a job posting for a first baseman.
Here it is:

Do you qualify to play 1B for the Angels in 2011?


Now I’ve never used the site Hiring.at. It linked to the job aggregator simplyhired.com. Here’s a direct link to the listing.
At first, I thought this was a clever posting by the team. It’s not such a bad thing to poke fun at yourself when you’re down. But a quick check on the Angels website, proved that there is no such job offered by the team or the MLB.
I’m not sure what this is, aside from some spam posting. The Angels ought to know. Part of me wanted to apply for the job. However, I’m well past my prime, and I don’t have the required number of years playing AAA ball. So my application would be an E-3, sotospeak.

~ by sotospeaks on September 21, 2010.

One Response to “Los Angeles Angels search for first baseman on online want ads?”

  1. New Startup Jobs.com just launched nationwide and it contains thousands of new job openings at hundreds of startups and fast-growing companies. Most of the jobs will never be posted to any of the major job search engines because of the high cost.

Leave a Reply

 
