A memorable Memorial Day weekend in the ER


A holiday isn’t complete without some drama, but I didn’t think I’d be sitting in the ER. We thought that the most eventful episode of the weekend was the 9-0 loss that booted us out of a tournament in Lakewood. Come to think of it, the biggest trauma was driving back and forth to Lakewood three times.
But a pool party mishap sent my older doctor to the ER. We thought she might need stitches but it turns out it wasn’t necessary. A little tape, some Tylenol, and she will be up and jogging at soccer again soon. I’d ask the doctor to make her faster but I don’t think that will happen.
So we are sitting in here and some dude is lying here with his head gashed open. He was partying in Vegas with his friend when suddenly, a Skyy bottle got between them. Well it got between his friend’s hand, and his head. Now I’m listening to this guy tell the nurses that his buddy drinks too much and “may do drugs,” and I’m thinking, sounds like a really good friend.
I’m not into blood and guts but I like the action of the ER. There are dozens of stories. Accidents, fights, medical episodes. I have only watched a few episodes of the show ER, but I thought it never captured the action of a real ER. I’m sure doctors would disagree with me. In fact they’d probably have a bone to pick, sotospeak.

~ by sotospeaks on May 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
