It’s Earth Day


This isn’t a holiday I anticipate each year. I’m not vegan, and I don’t compost in my backyard on my patio. But strangely, I have stepped up my contributions to the environment recently. Since losing my job, I’ve probably cut out about 600 miles a week behind the wheel. So while losing my job left me gasping for oxygen, I have been quite positive in reducing my carbon footprint!
So what’s the next step? Well, that could be taken literally! Now that spring is here, and this week’s rain appears to be more of a threat than anything, perhaps I should be walking my kids to and from school. God knows my waistline could benefit from the extra 20 minutes of pounding pavement. I already have reduced my visits to the gas station from three times a week to once a week. Perhaps walking to and from school could stretch me out to about 10 days between fill-ups.
Source: NASASo despite spending this Earth Day scouring the internet for a new career, I can pat myself on the back knowing I’ve made a little contribution this year to the planet. I am on top of the world, sotospeak.

~ by sotospeaks on April 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
